Total six traffic guards are there in Siliguri Metropolitan Police area headed by DCP (Traffic), SMP. Traffic police is deployed at 120 traffic junctions in the city at major roads, State and national highways. NH-31, NH-55, Hill Cart Road, Burdwan Road, Sevoke Road, Eastern Bypass and Ambari Canal Road are the prominent roads passing through the area under SMP.  Siliguri Traffic Police intensified the Safe Drive Save Life Campaign initiated by the Honourable CM, West Bengal in 2016. Significant positive results have been achieved. If we compare the fatalities and injuries during the period of Sep 2015 – Feb 2016 to that in Sep 2016 – Feb 2017 it is found that the fatalities is reduced by 13% and Injuries are reduced by 11 %. The improvement is even more encouraging during this month.


            The six Traffic Guards are-

1)      Bagdogra TG

2)      Junction TG

3)      Panitanki TG

4)      Jalpai More TG

5)      Bhaktinagar TG

6)      NJP   TG